Avondale Elementary supt. honored with CSTA Administrator Impact Award
Sections    Saturday May 25th, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Avondale Elementary supt. honored with CSTA Administrator Impact Award

  • |
  • Stacey Finkel/Computer Science Teachers Association

Avondale Elementary School District Superintendent Dr. Betsy Hargrove, Right, Accepts The Computer Science Teachers Association's The Organization’s Second Annual Administrator Impact Award At Their Annual Conference.

At their annual conference, the Computer Science Teachers Association, announced today that Dr. Betsy Hargrove, superintendent of Avondale Elementary School District in Arizona, won the organization’s second annual Administrator Impact Award.

The Administrator Impact Award recognizes an administrator who has made an outstanding contribution in K-12 computer science. Educators from across the country nominated administrators who have improved student access to high quality computer science education.

Avondale Elementary supt. honored with CSTA Administrator Impact Award BetseyHargroveCSTAAward

Avondale Elementary School District Superintendent Dr. Betsy Hargrove, right, accepts the Computer Science Teachers Association’s the organization’s second annual Administrator Impact Award at their annual conference.

The nominations were evaluated on the basis of how the administrator influenced or improved K-12 computer science education, the scope and the impact of the nominee’s contribution, and the extent to which they have demonstrated outstanding educator and leadership qualities.

Dr. Hargrove was selected because she is a true champion for computer science education. She oversees a school district that is challenged by poverty (86% of her students receive free or reduced lunch and 77% are minorities).

Despite the many obstacles she navigates daily, she saw what computer science could do for her students and their collective futures. She transformed her district into the only elementary school district in Arizona that teaches all students in all grades computer programming.

Dr. Hargrove also insisted that all “technology” teachers become “computer science” teachers by teaching coding to every student.

“I am incredibly honored to be the 2015 recipient of the Administrator Impact Award,” said Dr. Hargrove. “Our mission in Avondale is to develop thinkers, problem solvers and communicators on their path to college, career and life. Our talented staff and community recognize that teaching students computer science, specifically coding, in all grades is essential to ensuring our students are successful. We believe that all students are capable of success. No exceptions.”

Influential administrators recognized with honorable mentions include:

Corey Alderdice, Director of Admissions, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts;

Ryan Gravette, Director of Technology, Idaho Digital Learning;

Dr. Kimberly Hill, Superintendent of Schools, Charles County Public Schools (MD); and

Carl Lyman, Information Technology Education Specialist, Utah State Office of Education.

Also announced at the conference was the winner of the annual award for Advocate of the Year—CSTA Arkansas President Carl Frank.

This goes to a member of the Computer Science Advocacy Leadership Team (CSALT) who performs outstanding advocacy work in their region.

Frank’s accomplishments included organizing the first Arkansas Computer Science Education Summit, which brought together nearly 200 leaders from education, government, and industry. The summit helped set the stage for unanimous passage of legislation requiring all public and charter high schools in Arkansas to offer computer science classes.

“Access to computer science can help shape a young person’s future,” said CSTA Chair Dave Reed. “We are so proud of these leaders who have committed themselves to providing a more robust path for students to have access to highquality computer science education. Their passion and dedication is truly inspiring.”

For more information about CSTA and these awards, visit csta.acm.org.

About The Computer Science Teachers Association

The Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) is a membership organization that supports and promotes the teaching of computer science and other computing disciplines. CSTA provides opportunities for K–12 teachers and students to better understand the computing disciplines and to more successfully prepare themselves to teach and learn.