Tucson women to be honored at Dolores Huerta Celebración de la Mujer - AZEdNews
Sections    Saturday July 11th, 2020
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Tucson women to be honored at Dolores Huerta Celebración de la Mujer

  • |
  • Liane Hernandez/ YWCA of Southern Arizona

The Arizona César E. Chávez Holiday Coalition Is Pleased To Announce The 6th Annual Dolores Huerta Celebración De La Mujer On Sunday, March 24th, 3-6pm At The Mission Garden, 946 W Mission Lane In Tucson. Flyer Courtesy YWCA Of Southern Arizona

The Arizona César E. Chávez Holiday Coalition is pleased to announce the 6th Annual Dolores Huerta Celebración de la Mujer on Sunday, March 24th, 3-6 p.m. at the Mission Garden, 946 W. Mission Lane in Tucson.

This year’s Outstanding Honorees are:

Ms. Yuvennice Caraveo, The Consuelo Aguilar Esperanza Award

Ms. Caraveo attends Cholla High School and at a young age has already organized around many issues both at her school and in the community. She is dedicated to forging alliances and ensuring the voices of the most affected are at the center of what she does. The Committee is excited to honor such a young, inspiring voice.

Ms. Gabriella Cázares-KellyThe Mujer En La Lucha Award

Gabriella has dedicated her life to advocating and fighting for her community. From working with youth in and outside of high school and higher education to organizing voter registration efforts across the Tohono O’odham Nation to founding Indivisible Tohono, she has helped forge a new path for the O’odham people, and especially women.

Dr. Lydia Otero, The Si Se Puede Legacy Award

Dr. Otero’s contribution to the preservation of the history of Tucson should be celebrated as a symbol of love for our City. Dr. Otero’s deep sense of fostering leadership and mentoring those from marginalized communities has spanned a career of 30 years. Her dedication to scholarship, mentorship, community service and advocacy has had a profound impact on all of us.

“The nomination committee is thrilled to be able to continue to honor local women who work so hard to advocate, mentor, and fight for a seat at the table for all of us. This year’s nominees show us how important place, leadership and telling our own stories are, now more than ever,” says Dr. Ada Wilkinson-Lee, Committee member.

The Celebration is named after Dolores Huerta is co-founder of the United Farm Workers Union, and one of the most prominent Latina leaders of our lifetime. She worked to organize the most vulnerable laborers winning basic rights for farm workers.

She went on to found the Dolores Huerta Foundation, devoted to community organizing, developing leadership skills, and encouraging civic engagement. Dolores Huerta has received multiple honors and recognition, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2012.