Student writing contest winners to take part in Statehood Day
Sections    Tuesday August 11th, 2020
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Student writing contest winners to take part in Statehood Day

  • |
  • Arizona Educational Foundation

The Empowerment Project

The top students in each category of the Arizona Educational Foundation’s Polly Rosenbaum Creative Writing Contest and their guests will join state leaders at the Arizona State Capitol Museum, Saturday, February 13, 2016 at 10:30 a.m. for the Statehood Day ceremony and an awards ceremony hosted in partnership with the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, a division of the Secretary of State’s Office.

This year’s prompt was, “What Does It Mean To Be Civically Engaged?”

Student writing contest winners to take part in Statehood Day 480x2421This year’s contest winners:

7th & 8th Grade Category: 

1st Place: Jonathan Breton, Paul Huber Middle School, Douglas

2nd Place: Evan Apuron, San Manuel Jr. High School, San Manuel

3rd Place: Alexandrea Jurchen, Cholla Middle School, Phoenix

9th & 10th Grade Category: 

1st Place: Kylie Sherby, Chaparral High School, Scottsdale

2nd Place: Camden Beal, Chaparral High School, Scottsdale

3rd Place: Leslie Gonzalez-Ponce, Ampitheater High School, Tucson

11th & 12th Grade Category: 

1st Place: Gaurav Jategaonkar, Hamilton High School, Chandler

2nd Place: Daniel Stenberg, Chaparral High School, Scottsdale

3rd Place: Lydia Chew, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Students will be recognized in front of guests and state leaders at 10:30 a.m. in the Historic Senate Chamber. Following the presentation of awards, the first place winners will read their essays.

The 2016 AEF Arizona Ambassador for Excellence, Beth Snyder, will keynote the event following the award ceremony and reading of the winning essays.

Students with second and third place entries will read their essays during a private lunch at approximately 12:00 pm in the Historic Supreme Court Chamber. The lunch portion of the awards ceremony is closed to the public.

If you would like a copy of the winning students’ essays, please contact Maggie Zehring by email at