Nine Mesa schools win 2016 A+ award
Sections    Thursday May 6th, 2021
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Nine Mesa schools win 2016 A+ award

  • |
  • Heidi Hurst/ Mesa Public Schools

Mark Andrews, Principal At Summit Academy, Works With A Student. Summit Academy Was One Of Nine District Schools Named A 2016 A+ School Of Excellence™. Photo By Tim Hacker/Mesa Public Schools

For the second year in a row, Mesa has nine schools among Arizona’s best K-12 public schools. These outstanding schools are the 2016 winners of A+ School of Excellence™ awards from the Arizona Educational Foundation:

  • Brinton Elementary School, Dr. Patricia Estes, principal
  • Las Sendas Elementary School, Aaron Kaczmarek, principal
  • Mountain View High School, Greg Milbrandt, principal
  • Shepherd Junior High School, Eileen Cahoon, principal
  • Smith Junior High School, Casey Eagleburger, principal
  • Summit Academy, Mark Andrews, principal
  • Taft Elementary School, Russ Heath, principal
  • Westwood High School, Shawn Lynch, principal
  • Whitman Elementary School, Andrea Erickson, principal
Nine Mesa schools win 2016 A+ award A-plus-award-300x156

Mark Andrews, principal at Summit Academy, works with a student. Summit Academy was one of nine district schools named a 2016 A+ School of Excellence™. Photo by Tim Hacker/Mesa Public Schools

“The A+ School of Excellence™ program celebrates outstanding schools throughout Arizona and calls attention to the positive stories and successes occurring in public schools,” explains Bobbie O’Boyle, AEF executive director. “We applaud these schools for doing whatever it takes to meet their students’ needs and achieving overall success despite some of the challenges that face the education community statewide.”

Since 1983, the foundation has honored A+ Schools of Excellence™ to give recognition to remarkable Arizona public schools. Schools submit applications that document demographic information, current programs and practices, parent and community involvement, the school’s leadership and commitment to excellence, equity and service. Each of this year’s 40 award-winning schools receives $500 and an A+ School of Excellence™ banner. All staff and faculty at winning schools are eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University/Phoenix.

To earn an A+ award, schools must show high achievement or significant improvement. Top schools identify and meet the academic and non-academic needs of their students. A+ Schools of Excellence™ hold their title for three and a half years. Mesa currently has 23 A+ Schools of Excellence™.

Each year a selection panel that includes award-winning principals, teachers and community leaders choose the A+ schools. Site visits are conducted at selected schools throughout the state to choose the awardees.