Horseshoe Trails teacher named Elementary Innovative Teacher of the Year
Sections    Thursday July 18th, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Horseshoe Trails teacher named Elementary Innovative Teacher of the Year

  • |
  • Julia Scotto/Cave Creek Unified School District

Pictured From Left To Right, Horseshoe Trails Elementary School Principal, Dr. Matt Schenk; Ex. Director Of AZTEA Cathy Poplin; Teacher Kristi Frederiksen, Chris Frederiksen, Superintendent Dr. Debbi Burdick; Director Of Instructional Technology Nancy Pratt; And Assoc. Supt. Of Teaching & Learning Dr. Jana Miller. Photo Courtesy Cave Creek Unified School District

The Cave Creek Unified School District is proud to announce that Kristi Frederiksen, first grade teacher at Horseshoe Trails Elementary School, has been named the 2016 Arizona Technology in Education Association’s Elementary Innovative Teacher of the Year.

Kristi was honored at the February 13, 2017, CCUSD Governing Board Meeting.

Nancy Pratt, Director of Instructional Technology for CCUSD noted that “Kristi is such a creative teacher who clearly understands student-centered technology integration and leverages technology to positively impact student learning on a daily basis.”

Student engagement is obvious when you walk into Kristi’s classroom.  During center time, Dot & Dash robots conduct spelling and word family practice. The students sit in front of the robot and follow its directions, writing on their whiteboards.

In another station, she has pre-recorded lessons on iPads for the students to review with another group doing low-tech maker-space activities.

Horseshoe Trails Elementary School is an “A” rated, A+ School of Excellence offering its students Chinese Immersion, TRRFCC Horsemanship (equine character education program) and  A+ Exemplary Programs.

For more information regarding HTES, please contact the principal, Dr. Matt Schenk at or by calling 480-272-8500.