Five Mesa schools win A+ Award
Sections    Tuesday May 21st, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

Five Mesa schools win A+ Award

  • |
  • Lynda Jordan/Mesa Public Schools

2014 Arizona A+ School of Excellence award  winners include Falcon Hill, Red Mountain Ranch and Zaharis elementaries; Taylor Junior High; and Red Mountain High.

Five Mesa schools are among Arizona’s most exemplary K-12 public schools as winners of  A+ School of Excellence awards from the Arizona Educational Foundation:

  • Falcon Hill Elementary, Lynn Taylor David, principal
  • Red Mountain High, Gerald Slemmer, principal
  • Red Mountain Ranch Elementary, Joyce Cook, principal
  • Taylor Junior High, Gina Piraino, principal
  • Zaharis Elementary School, Mike Oliver, principal


Since 1983, the foundation has honored A+ Schools of Excellence:

  • to identify and give public recognition to outstanding public schools in Arizona
  • to make available a comprehensive framework of key criteria for school effectiveness that can serve as a basis for participatory self-assessment and planning in schools
  • to facilitate communication and sharing of best practices within and among schools based on a common criteria related to success

Each of this year’s 34 award-winning schools receives $500 and a banner designating it as an A+ School of Excellence. All staff and faculty at winning schools are eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University/Phoenix — 20 percent for a master’s degree and 15 percent for undergraduate and doctoral degrees.


Schools submit applications that provide demographic information, a description of current programs and practices, documentation of parent and community involvement, a profile of the school’s leadership and commitment to excellence, equity, service.

Schools must demonstrate sustained high achievement or significant improvement through assessment data. Winning schools are recognized for their superior ability to identify and meet the academic and non-academic needs of their student population. Schools that earn the A+ School of Excellence designation retain their status for three-years.

The selection panel includes award-winning principals, teachers and community leaders. Panel members conduct site visits to selected schools throughout the state in order to choose A+ Schools of Excellence.
— Information courtesy of the Arizona Educational Foundation