Buckeye Supt. Kristi Wilson named AASA President - AZEdNews
Sections    Wednesday March 22nd, 2023

Buckeye Supt. Kristi Wilson named AASA President

  • |
  • James Minichello   |   AASA, The School Superintendents Association

Buckeye Elementary School District Superintendent Dr. Kristi Sandvik With Students. Photo Courtesy Buckeye Elementary School District

Kristi Wilson (formerly Sandvik), superintendent of the Buckeye Elementary School District in Buckeye, Ariz., and the 2020 Arizona Superintendent of the Year, was sworn in as the 2020-21 president of AASA, The School Superintendents Association. 

AASA is the premier organization for the nation’s superintendents serving thousands of education leaders throughout the U.S.

Buckeye Supt. Kristi Wilson named AASA President Kristi-Sandvik_BEST
Dr. Kristi Wilson

Wilson has been a member of AASA as well as the Arizona Association of School Administrators since 2010. 

“The importance of wellness and balance cannot be overstated during this unprecedented time in our nation’s history as we navigate the many challenges ahead of us,” Wilson said. “These are tough times, but I have no doubt that our public school systems will pull through and become stronger in the process. That is why I am honored to serve as the 2020-21 president of this great organization.”

“Kristi Wilson is steadfastly committed to working with school system leaders during the COVID-19 crisis,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director of AASA. “We are fortunate to have someone of Kristi’s caliber representing AASA at a time when school superintendents may be facing their biggest challenges. I look forward to working with her in our efforts to find the right solutions in the pandemic environment.”

Wilson began her tenure as superintendent of Buckeye Schools in 2013. She previously held the position of assistant superintendent at the same school district beginning in 2010.

Honors include being named the recipient of the 2018 Arizona Parent Teacher Association Lifetime Achievement Award, the 2015 Arizona School Administrators Distinguished Administrator of the Year and the 2015 VH1 Superintendent of the Year.  

Paul Imhoff, superintendent of Upper Arlington Schools in Upper Arlington, Ohio, was also sworn in as AASA president-elect. The installation ceremony was held in conjunction with AASA’s virtual Legislative Advocacy Conference.

About AASA

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.