Sections    Friday April 19th, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

AZ Dept. of Education recognizes outstanding civics programs at 35 schools

  • |
  • Stefan Swiat/ Arizona Department of Education

Photo Of Children With Sandra Day O'Connor Quote About Civics. Photo Courtesy Of Arizona Department Of Education

Thirty-five Arizona public schools are being recognized for their outstanding civics programs as 2016-17 Arizona Civic Engagement schools by the Arizona Department of Education Excellence in Civic Engagement Program.

Now in its fifth year, this program recognizes and supports the important role schools play in ensuring that students are informed and engaged citizens.

“The most important work we conduct in education is preparing our students to become successful citizens and help perpetuate a prosperous republic,” said Diane Douglas, superintendent of public instruction.

“There are few things I see as more important than helping them understand their civic rights, roles and responsibilities as American citizens,” Douglas said.

“The schools being honored as part of the ECEP program are shining examples of the work being done in Arizona to prepare our students to actively participate in their communities and government when they leave the school system,” Douglas said.

ECEP identifies schools that demonstrate knowledge and effective implementation of the following six proven practices in civic learning: classroom instruction in civics and government, history, economics, geography, law and democracy; service learning linked to classroom learning; experiential learning; learning through participation in models and simulations of democratic processes and procedures; guided classroom discussion of current issues and events; and meaningful participation in school governance.

Public schools from around the state, both traditional and charter, applied for recognition as an Arizona Civic Engagement school with one of the following designations: School of Merit, School of Distinction or School of Excellence.

Of those schools, 19 have been recognized as Schools of Merit, eight have been honored as Schools of Distinction and eight have received the most prestigious recognition as Schools of Excellence.

The schools will be formally recognized at an award ceremony at the 5th Annual Civic Learning Conference on March 2, 2018.

For more information about ADE’s Excellence in Civic Engagement Program, please visit

Excellence in Civic Engagement Program Award Recipients 2016-17

Schools of Merit

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Arizona College Preparatory, Oakland Campus                 Chandler Unified School District

Benson High School                                                                 Benson Unified School District

Fremont Junior High School                                                  Mesa Public Schools

Imagine Prep- Surprise                                                           Charter

Kino Junior High School                                                         Mesa Public Schools

Kyrene de los Lagos Dual Language Academy                    Kyrene School District

Kyrene Traditional Academy – Sureno Campus                 Kyrene School District

Mendoza Elementary                                                               Mesa Public Schools

Mesa High School                                                                     Mesa Public Schools

Mountain View High School                                                   Mesa Public Schools

Poston Junior High School                                                      Mesa Public Schools

Sandra Day O’Connor High School                                       Deer Valley Unified School District

Sirrine Elementary School                                                      Mesa Public Schools

Smith Junior High School                                                       Mesa Public Schools

Summit Academy                                                                     Mesa Public Schools

Superstition High School                                                        Mesa Public Schools

Taylor Junior High School                                                      Mesa Public Schools

Tres Rios Service Academy                                                    Littleton School District

West Wing School                                                                   Deer Valley Unified School District

Schools of Distinction

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Carson Junior High                                                                 Mesa Public Schools

Chandler High School                                                            Chandler Unified School District

Cocopah Middle School                                                         Scottsdale Unified School District

Dobson High School                                                               Mesa Public Schools

East Valley Academy                                                              Mesa Public Schools

Franklin Junior High School                                                Mesa Public Schools

New School for the Arts and Academics                            Charter

Skyline High School                                                               Mesa Public Schools

Schools of Excellence

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Arizona School for the Arts                                                    Charter

Basha High School                                                                   Chandler Unified School District

Hamilton High School                                                             Chandler Unified School District

Red Mountain High School                                                    Mesa Public Schools

Rhodes Junior High School                                                    Mesa Public Schools

Safford K-8 Magnet School                                                    Tucson Unified School District

Shepherd Junior High School                                                Mesa Public Schools

Westwood High School                                                           Mesa Public Schools