30 Arizona schools recognized for high quality civic learning
Sections    Thursday June 27th, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

30 Arizona schools recognized for high quality civic learning

  • |
  • Charles Tack/Arizona Department of Education


Superintendent of Public Instruction Diane Douglas announced that thirty Arizona public schools are being recognized as 2014-2015 Arizona Civic Engagement schools by the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Excellence in Civic Engagement Program (ECEP).

Currently in its third year, ECEP recognizes and supports the important role schools play in ensuring that students are informed and engaged citizens.

30 Arizona schools recognized for high quality civic learning CivicLearning-ExcellenceSmaller“The ECEP program highlights what I feel is a critical function of our public education system, which is to ensure that when students leave school to pursue further education or their chosen career they are able to contribute to our great nation as active citizens,” Douglas said. “These honorees should be very proud of their accomplishments, and I hope that other schools across Arizona will look to them as models when emphasizing civic learning in their classrooms.”

ECEP identifies schools that demonstrate knowledge and effective implementation of the following six proven practices in civic learning: classroom instruction in civics and government, history, economics, geography, law and democracy; service learning linked to classroom learning; experiential learning; learning through participation in models and simulations of democratic processes and procedures; guided classroom discussion of current issues and events; and meaningful participation in school governance.

Public schools from around the state, both traditional and charter, applied for recognition as an Arizona Civic Engagement school with one of the following designations: School of Merit, School of Distinction or School of Excellence.

Of those schools, 16 have been recognized as Schools of Merit, 10 have been honored as Schools of Distinction and four have received the most prestigious recognition as Schools of Excellence.

The schools will be formally recognized at an award ceremony on September 17, 2015—Constitution Day.

For more information about ADE’s Excellence in Civic Engagement Program, please visit www.azed.gov/civicengagement.


Arizona Civic Engagement Schools 2014-2015

Schools of Merit

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Arizona Charter Academy                                                       Charter

Benson High School                                                                 Benson Unified School District

Boulder Creek High School                                                    Deer Valley Unified School District

Carson Junior High                                                                 Mesa Public Schools

Chandler High School                                                             Chandler Unified School District

East Valley Academy                                                               Mesa Public Schools

Franklin Junior High                                                              Mesa Public Schools

Imagine Prep-Surprise                                                           Charter

Kino Junior High                                                                     Mesa Public Schools

Mesa Academy for Advanced Studies                                  Mesa Public Schools

Mesa High School                                                                    Mesa Public Schools

Sandra Day O’Connor High School                                      Deer Valley Unified School District

Shadow Ridge High School                                                    Dysart Unified School District

Stapley Junior High                                                                 Mesa Public Schools

Westar Elementary School                                                     Liberty Elementary School District

Taylor Junior High                                                                  Mesa Public Schools


Schools of Distinction

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Dobson High School                                                                Mesa Public Schools

Hamilton High School                                                             Chandler Unified School District

Mountain View High School                                                  Mesa Public Schools

New School for the Arts and Academics                              Charter

Red Mountain High School                                                    Mesa Public Schools

Safford IB Magnet School                                                       Tucson Unified School District

Shepherd Junior High                                                             Mesa Public Schools

Smith Junior High                                                                   Mesa Public Schools

South Mountain High School                                                Phoenix Union High School District

Westwood High School                                                          Mesa Public Schools


Schools of Excellence

SCHOOL                                                                                DISTRICT

Arizona School for the Arts                                                   Charter

Rhodes Junior High                                                               Mesa Public Schools

Skyline High School                                                               Mesa Public Schools

Tanque Verde High School                                                   Tanque Verde Unified School District