26 Scottsdale students finalists for National Merit Scholarship
Sections    Wednesday July 17th, 2019
Twitter Profile Facebook Profile LinkedIn Profile RSS Profile

26 Scottsdale students finalists for National Merit Scholarship

  • |
  • Becky Kelbaugh/Scottsdale Unified School District

The National Merit® Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Finalists in the 59th annual National Merit® Scholarship Program.

These academically talented high school seniors continue in the competition for approximately 8,000 National Merit® Scholarships, worth more than $35 million, that will be offered.

To be considered for a National Merit® Scholarship award, Semifinalists fulfilled several requirements to advance to the Finalist level. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists attained Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit® Scholarship and earn the Merit Scholar® title.

The following Scottsdale Unified School District students were named as National Merit ® Finalists for 2014:

Arcadia High School
Nathan Hake

Chaparral High School
Matthew Adler, Connor Jennison, Leah Kaplan, Evelyn Karis, Natalie Mionis, Aatikah Mouti, Eric Peshkin, Olivia Struckman, Kyle Sun, Scott Viteri, Justin Wang and Rianna Williams

Desert Mountain High School
Tess Balentine, Hannah Cardall, Ryan Hebel, Maria Iglesias, Ruchi Kirtikar, Rebecca Martin, Karthik Nambiar, Alyssa Neidhart, Jordan Patterson, Talia Pearl, Aditi Poduval, Rajiv Reddy and Rebecca Seifert

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2014 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.

Scottsdale Unified School District, where we Engage, Educate and Empower Every Student, Every Day.

The District and 15 schools have earned the state’s highest A-F Achievement Profile grade – A. All Scottsdale schools are graded as A, B, or C by the Arizona Department of Education.

For more information about Scottsdale Unified schools, please visit www.susd.org